Polish Committee of Cultural Studies

Polnisches Komitee für Kulturwissenschaften

Comité polonais des études culturelles

Комитет наук о культуре Польской академии наук


Committee Executives:

Prof. dr hab. Dariusz Brzostek – Chairman of the Committee. This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..

Dr hab. prof. UAM Marianna Michałowska – Deputy Chairwoman of the Committee

Dr. hab. prof. UW Włodzimierz Pessel – Deputy Chairman of the Committee

Other members of the Presidium:

Prof. dr hab. Ewa Rewers

Prof. dr hab. Piotr Zawojski

Dr hab. prof. UŚ Anna Gomóła


Work plan of the Polish Committee of Cultural Studies for the 2024–2027 term of office will be formulated and published in the future.



Work plan of the Polish Committee of Cultural Studies for the 2020–2023 term of office

  1. The Committee shall formulate its position on matters related to the organisation of scientific research, higher education and scientific life in Poland in the form of opinions, position papers, appeals and postulates.

  2. The Committee shall initiate research leading to the preparation of expert opinions and reports on the development of scientific disciplines within its competence, in particular the discipline of ‘cultural and religious studies’.

  3. The Committee shall initiate and organise a wide exchange of opinions and scientific knowledge within the regular parts of its plenary meetings devoted to the review of latest research conducted in the field of cultural studies.

  4. The Committee shall co-operate with the other Committees of the Polish Academy of Sciences (PAN) by inviting their representatives to participate in its work and meetings as experts and speakers, and by supporting their initiatives, opinions and projects.

  5. The Committee shall initiate international cooperation with representatives of scientific institutions abroad involved in cultural research.

  6. The Committee shall work on the concept of a publishing series devoted to latest research on culture under its patronage.

  7. The Committee shall issue its opinion on the editorial policy of the scientific journal Przegląd Kulturoznawczy (Cultural Studies Review) co-financed by the PAN.

  8. The Committee shall cooperate with the Polish Association of Cultural Studies in organising the latter’s 4th Congress to be held in 2021.

  9. The Committee shall offer its patronage of selected scientific conferences organised within its area of competence.


In order to facilitate the implementation of the work plan, the Committee has appointed the following five commissions:

  1. The Commission for Publishing, chaired by Prof. Andrzej Gwóźdź

  2. The Commission for International Cooperation, chaired by Dr hab. Magdalena Saryusz-Wolska

  3. The Commission for the Evaluation of Academic Dissertations and Monitoring of Academic Discipline Councils in the Discipline of Cultural and Religious Studies, chaired by Prof. Leszek Kolankiewicz

  4. The Commission for Social Affairs, chaired by Prof. Agata Skórzyńska (professor at Adam Mickiewicz University, Poznań)

  5. The Awards Commission, chaired by Prof. Eugeniusz Wilk


Technical secretary:

dr Franciszek Chwałczyk. This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..




Cultural Studies Review - journal published by the Committee in a cooperation with Faculty of Management and Social Communication at the Jagiellonian University